h1

Who will I find where the Wild Things are?

May 9, 2012

Is he where the Wild Things are?  Or perhaps in the Night Kitchen?

Maurice Sendak  – June 10, 1928 – May 8, 2012

He redefined children’s literature for recent generations beginning with the publication of Where the Wild Things Are in 1963.  He moved children’s books away from cuteness.  He had an edginess about his work, but not to the extent of the darkness portrayed in earlier stories, such as those by Hans Christian Anderson and the (aptly named) Brothers Grimm.  I love In the Night Kitchen.  What a terrific cityscape made of kitchen implements and ingredients.  What fun to wind up in the cake batter.

Here is more.

2 comments

  1. I love love love In the Night Kitchen. I just love it. I miss it, I’m going to have to go buy it and read it to my nephew this week.


    • Oh, enjoy!



Leave a Reply

