h1

How am I seeing?

August 19, 2013

RTEmagicC_scoring_munsell.gif

I saw this story from the New York Times on glasses that can correct some kinds of color blindness and I thought that was interesting. 

It made me think about how different perceptions can be for different people.  I used to drive myself crazy when I was a kid wondering about that.  Were there some people for whom chocolate tasted terrible and liver tasted good, and what do dogs actually see, what about bees that can see ultraviolet?

I would have like to be able to see beyond the visual spectrum and wondered what it would look like if there were more colors.  I was sure that there were, if only I could see them.

Here are some ultraviolet flowers.

And you can test yourself here with the farnsworth-munsell color vision test.

ishihara

The image above is from the Ishihara color vision test.  You can take that online, too.

If you were color blind would you buy the glasses?  I would think seriously about it.

4 comments

  1. I LOVED that flowers link! I’ve never seen anything like that before.


    • Isn’t that amazing!


  2. You’re inspiring me to reread David Lee’s _Nature’s Palette: the Science of Plant Color_.


    • Interesting – I’ll have to look that one up. Thanks.



Leave a Reply

