h1

Whose birthday is it today?

October 3, 2013

Whose birthday?  It is mine.

archie's cake

When I was growing up, birthdays always meant a cake from Hough Bakery.   For my brother, born in March, the cake was covered in spring flowers.  For my sister’s June birthday, frosting roses decorated the cake.  I think I really got the best deal because for my October birthday, my mom would get a cake with the entire top covered in frosting mums in autumn colors.  I cannot describe how beautiful it was – and how delicious.

petit fours

Hough closed their retail stores in 1992.  You can tell a native Clevelander by the dreamy, far away look in their eyes when you mention the name Hough Bakery.  They will sigh, “Oh, yes, I remember the  . . .  “(filling in the blank – birthday cakes, corn toasties, brownies, blondies, hot cross buns, daffodil cakes, Hungarian delights, etc., etc., with whatever was their favorite.

9458289-small

If you did not grow up on bakery from Hough’s, the names will mean nothing to you.  But to a native Clevelander, Hough’s was more than just a bakery, it was part of our history.

The daffodil cakes and so forth may be gone, but you can still get a Hough-style birthday cake at Archie’s Bakery.  Archie was a baker for Hough’s and he negotiated with the family to continue baking and selling their distinctive birthday cakes.

archies

I’ll get mine.

4 comments

  1. Happy Birthday!

    It really pains me when an institution or a fixture in any community fades away, especially one that had a devoted and loving clientele. But such is life, eh?


    • Such is life . . . Thanks for the birthday wishes!


  2. Happy Birthday!


    • :)!!!



Leave a Reply

