h1

Who am I featuring on the Bakery Blogumentary?

November 6, 2013

IMG_1950

A couple of weeks ago I was lamenting the demise of Hough Bakery in Cleveland.  While I still miss their special treats, I have noticed that there are quite a few newer – and also wonderful – bakeries around.

In this installment of the Bakery Blogumentary, I am featuring Zoss the Swiss Baker.  Zoss is on the route I take to work every day, and it is an easy and quick stop for a croissant, a spinach tart for lunch, a box of cookies for the office (when the minions have been especially good) – so many wonderful things.  Their bakery has a continental favor and it is THE place to go for Bavarian pretzels, palmiers, macaroons, croissants, chocolate papillons.

I would love to show you a photo of the hazelnut macaroon I purchased this morning, but it just disappeared somehow – sorry.

zoss 2Perfect, flaky, buttery croissants.

zoss 7These are chocolate papillons.

zoss 5

zoss 4

zoss 3Selections from the pastry counters.

zoss 6

This post would not be complete without mentioning the bread and rolls that Zoss produces from their magical ovens. We are fortunate that Zoss bread is also available in local supermarkets so it is possible to find even when the mothership is closed.    They always do something special for the holidays – I’m looking forward to that.

Did I mention the brioche?

4 comments

  1. You’re KILLIN’ me, Anne. There are precious few things I miss about Big-City living and nearly all of them revolve around food. Bakeries would be one such item… and there are times when I’d kill for a decent croissant or a baguette.

    (But not enough to actually… y’know… MOVE. 🙂 )


    • Buck, do I have to do a bagette intervention?


  2. It just blows my mind that San Diego, Solana Beach, Coronado, Hillcrest, and Encinitas didn’t have anything like this. There was VGs in Cardiff but they were famous for their donuts, ok and their croissants but that was it. They didn’t have ham and cheese croissants, chocolate croissants or anything like a papillon. I’m going out on a limb and saying that there was nothing at all like this in Emeryville 15 years ago either. Maybe nowadays since it’s way upscale even though the Borders closed. Berkeley had wonderful places like this though but they were up beyond Shattuck on Telegraph. I don’t think I saw anything like this north of campus and nothing like it on University.
    I think you live in an oasis of gourmet wonderfulness even if the Mexican restaurants are a little slow on the marvelous benefits of a proper quesidilla.


    • See . . . you had to come to this cosmopolitan metropolis to enjoy these goodies.



Leave a Reply

