h1

Where am I traveling?

January 9, 2014

planets_600

I must have stars in my eyes because this is another astronomical post. I saw this story (click on the graphic for the animation) in the New York Times article on 2013: The Year in Interactive Storytelling.  The story talks about the planets outside of our solar system that have been discovered by NASA’s Kepler spacecraft.  I do love a good info-graphic and find the animated planets just fascinating.  There is more to the story here.

7 comments

  1. Did you watch Nova (PBS) last night? The entire show was devoted to the Kepler planet-discovery story. Fascinating stuff.

    I think the show is available for streaming on-line… most Nova segments are.


    • I did not see Nova last night – probably because we do not have television service (!) But thanks for the tip. I will look into streaming the program because I just love this stuff.


  2. You can always find me reading graphs. Don’t tell anyone I like USA Today 😉 I’ll check this out. Astrologers use the same kind of graphs.


    • Yes!


    • Yes! Aren’t they interesting?


  3. I am amazed that they can calculate orbits with what must be such little data. I just saw the very first exo-solar planet image today.


    • I, too, am amazed.



Leave a Reply

