h1

Where am I flying?

February 24, 2014

fly1

I wrote earlier about my experience visiting the Udvar-Hazy Air and Space Museum in Virginia.  I thought the design and ambience of the museum was wonderful. But, look at these wonderful Airships of Dreams!  A collection that is similar in concept to the Udvar-Hazy, but completely comprised of magic and whimsey.

‘The Ships That Sail Through the Clouds’ by Luigi Prina, 83-year-old builder of flying model ships.

Luigi Prina, 83 years old, has been an architect for more than 50 years. He has been interested in aircraft modelling since a very young age. The flying ships are made from ultrathin paper and balsa wood. Everything is optimized for flight: from the weight (between 20 and 50 grams) to the aerodynamic shape. They fly like any propeller airplane. The only difference is that here the propeller is powered by an internal elastic band and not an engine. (Text by Blinking City, photographs by Gianluca Giannone)

fly3

fly2

fly4

fly5

fly6

Did anyone but me see the Deep Space Nine episode where Cisco and his son go on a vacation in a space ship that is powered by solar sails and is pushed along by the solar wind?  It was this kind of ship.

Reblogged from Hovercraft Doggy.

2 comments

  1. Not I said he but I think I know where Luigi got his inspiration. I’m just surprised my grandparents never told me he was a guest of the house in Carlisle.


    • What fun!



Leave a Reply

