h1

Whose birthday am I celebrating on tattoo Tuesday?

October 28, 2014

Statue5_of_Liberty_1917_poster

Dedicated on October 28, 1886, today is the 128th birthday of the Statue of Liberty, standing on Bedloe’s Island in New York Harbor.  A gift from the people of France, the statue is 305 feet high, is composed of copper, wrought iron and steel, and was designed by architect, Frédéric Auguste Bartholdi.  For “the true story of the Statue of Liberty, click this link.

Want more views?  Visit the crown cam.

I remember traveling to NYC with my sister and two aunts when I was nine.  We did all the tourist stuff including climbing to the top of the statue.  I loved it.

statue2

statue4

C35943-10

And the tattoo:

statue6

2 comments

  1. My family returned from five years overseas by Military Sea Transport Service (MSTS) ship… about a two week journey from Istanbul to New York. I’ll never forget arriving in New York, when everyone on board (including the off-duty members of the crew) lined the rails as we sailed into the harbor. The most poignant moment for me was glancing at my mother, who had tears streaming down her cheeks as she stared at the Statue of Liberty. “Isn’t she beautiful!” she whispered to me. Yes. Yes, indeed, she IS beautiful.

    Thanks for firing off some synapses for me, Anne.


    • The lady is impressive – all the more so in the context you described. Thanks for the wonderful memory.



Leave a Reply

