h1

Whose birthday am I noting on tattoo Tuesday?

November 4, 2014
trigere
Today is the birthday of Pauline Trigere, American fashion designer, who had a long career spanning the decades from the 1940s through the 1990s. Her NYT obituary (2002) states:

She was noted not only for her designing skills, but also for her tailoring and such touches as constructing dresses with no obvious seams.

Miss Trigère wore only her own designs, and she generally punctuated them with several of her trademark turtle pins. She was known both for her meticulous grooming and for a charm that surmounted her blunt, sometimes impolitic comments, spoken in a Gallic accent she never lost.

I remember sewing this dress, or something similar when I was in junior high or high school.  It was not as simple as it looks.

trigere pattern

And I forgot that you had to stand all funny when wearing her dresses:

trigere5

trigere2

trigere4

I could not find a Trigere tattoo, but I did find this super tattoo dress by Alexander McQueen:

tattoo dressWant.

2 comments

  1. In High School had a green dress like the one you had in Jr. High. I made it. Perhaps not so well formed but still. Did not know about this designer. Looks like things Jackie Kennedy would wear.


    • I remember making that dress – it drove me crazy with all the seams going every which way. I think Jackie mostly patronized French designers. Trigere had a French background, but she was an American designer. The look is similar, I agree.



Leave a Reply

