h1

What am I growing?

July 8, 2015

I posted earlier this season about the potatoes I am growing in barrels in my back yard.

IMG_1899This is what they looked like in late May, 2-3 weeks after planting.

DSC01923This is what they looked like in mid-June, shortly before we went on vacation.

DSC01924They have produced flowers.

DSC02003Some of the flowers look as if they are making potato fruit. I’ll have to keep and eye on these.

DSC02004This is what they looked like when we returned at the end of June.

The container potatoes have several advantages the chief one is that since they grow underground, the deer, bunnies, etc., are not eating them.  Some little rascals beheaded all of my hosta flower stalks and I have given up on growing tomatoes – the deer eat them.

I am getting a kick out of seeing how potatoes grow.

And they are still growing.  I hope we get potatoes and not just vines – but the vines are impressive!

Leave a Reply

