h1

How am I finding my way?

May 25, 2016

I have posted about interesting manhole covers before and I am always on the lookout for them. Here is another brilliant one from Seattle.
manhole seattle“For several years, whenever I traveled to Seattle, one of the joys of touring the city was the unique way-finding system within, or rather on top of, the manhole covers around the city. The map, designed by Anne Knight in 1977, has a “you are here” polished bead indicating where you are on the relief map of the city. In addition, key landmarks of Seattle are also indicated on the map. An interesting, functional system for a great walking city. One of its flaws is that it has no compass rose for orientation.” Kit Hinrichs at Create

 

 

2 comments

  1. Brilliant! I wish I’d known about these when I visited Seattle. I’d have looked down a lot more often!


    • Aren’t they wonderful?



Leave a Reply

